Katy Perry – “Daisies”

“Daisies”

Katy Perry

Pop / 2020 / Capitol Records

Katy Perry was excited to release her latest album, Witness, but the reception from critics and fans was overwhelming for her. In an interview with SiriusXM’s CBC Radio One she said: “And then I was excited about flying high off the next record. But the validation did not make me high, and so I just crashed”. These were extremely difficult times for Perry, however, in her new releases, she has been showing herself as a warrior who is growing and becoming stronger every day in her own way. Last year she hit the world with “Never Really Over”, an extremely catchy and pop track that recalled the best moments from her career. Even though some of her works still sound like extremely poor tracks that hardly carry any positive points — like “Small Talk” — Perry’s songs seem to be heading somewhere a little better than her previous album.

Announced as the lead single for her new album to be released in August of this year, “Daisies” is a kind of rebirth and liberation for Perry. With a very well done mix between synthesizers that build subtle electronic beats, a grand piano and a guitar that performs the best in this scenario, Perry made “Daisies” a track that had a certain depth but managed to conquer a few people and stick together in the minds as a good classic pop song. However, despite the essence of “Daisies” referring to Katy’s difficult past, the track does not go far beyond the chorus as the verses are short and tight and prevent Katy from getting the best out of the theme. Still, it is still a true song. At the beginning, she sings: “Told them your dreams, and they all started laughing” referring to the ideas shown in Witness that were treated like crazy. Fortunately, here, she used this to strengthen herself. In the chorus she says: “They told me I was out there, tried to knock me down / Took those sticks and stones, showed ’em I could build a house / They tell me that I’m crazy, but I’ll never let ‘in change me / ‘Til they cover me in daisies, daisies, daisies”. Despite its difficulty in expressing itself, “Daisies” is a good song.

Leave a comment